Top Headlines

Foreigners Tribunal (FT) member Justice Ajay Kumar Phukan assault Case: 7 advocates convicted for 2 years imprisonment



GOALPARA: Announcing the verdict on the assault case on Foreigners Tribunal (FT) member justice Ajay Kumar Phukan assault in 2017, the Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM) of Goalpara on Thursday convicted seven out of eight advocates for two years of imprisonment and fine also.

The advocates are Najrul Islam, Omar Faruk Choudhury, Shahjahan Ali, Mir Abdul Baten, Abdul Hamid, Moinul Hoque and Anower Hussain. However, the court acquitted advocate Anisur Hoque.
The court of Ipsita Barthakur in her 98-page judgment convicted these advocates under Indian Penal Code Sections 147/448/323 and 333 and also under Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act 1984 sections.

Section 147 refers to rioting, 448 refers to house trespass, 333 and 323 both refer to voluntarily causing grievous hurt to the public servant. The convicted were allowed bail on the same day.

The incident took place on February 15 of 2017 when a team of advocates went to the 4 number tribunal member Phukan regarding tagging of ‘D’ (Doubtful) voter to seven persons from the Boguan area of West Goalpara.
Subsequently, the advocates allegedly physically assaulted the member which created a statewide row. Judge Phukan in return filed a case at the Goalpara police station. The police filled a charge sheet after inquiry on March 24 against eight advocates of whom seven were convicted.