Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Four-day Rongali Bihu fest in Guwahati

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 April 2015 12:00 AM GMT

GUWAHATI, April 12: ThPandu Bihu Sanmilani has chalked out a four-day programme starting April 14 to celebrate its 54th year of Rongali Bihu festival at Maligaon Railway Stadium amidst enthusiasm, said a press release.

A committee has been constituted with a number of eminent persons for the successful conduct of the grand festival. Headed by Chandrajit Saikia as president, the committee has Umesh Sharma and Rupam Kumar Sarma as working president and general secretary respectively to be assisted in various capacities by Dilip Kumar Chakravarty, Ashok Bharali. Prabir Sarmah, Bharati Deka, Bhaben Das and Jayashree Dutta.

The cultural section will be looked after by Dinesh Deka, Bhupendra Chandra Deka and Chittaranjan Deka, acting respectively as president, chief secretary and secretary.

The opening day's programme will comprise a cultural procession, followed by flag-hoisting by Harekrish Deka, renowned poet and story-writer in the presence of RS Virdi, GM, NF Railway, acting as the guest of honour, among others. Reputed poet and academician Hirendra th Dutta will release the souvenir Bihuwati, which will be followed by felicitation to Siva Prasad Barua, Kalyan Dey and Chuchamai Deoraja. There will also be competitions in drawing and sports, and in the evening, Bihu Hussori and Bihu Kuwori contests will be held.

The second day's programme will begin with sports competitions to be followed by a special programme for women titled 'Culture is the essence of life' and 'Diha am' contest among women to be followed by Bihurani and Bihu Samragi competitions. Robin Deka, FA&CAO, NF Railway will iugurate the contest along with Sabin Rajkhowa, former secretary of Sankaradeva Kalakshetra.

The highlight of the third day's programme will be a spelling competition in English and Assamese, apart from more sporting contests. The cultural evening will be opened by Lalit Kapoor, principal chief engineer of NF Railway while Sailendra Jha, CCM, NF Railway, will attend the function as the chief guest.

The programme on the concluding day shall comprise among other things, distribution of prizes. In the evening, the cultural show will be participated by Zubeen Garg, Kalpa Patowary, Barli Kalita, Gargi Dutta, Pulak Banerjee, Baniko Ghosal, JP Das, Dwipen Barua, Apurba Bezbarua, Kabita Barthakur and others, apart from Bihu hussori exponent Ranjit Gogoi. Various dancesof NE India will also be presented.

Next Story