Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

GSA new body formed

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, May 8: It was just like a last ball decider of a cricket match. Ranjit Kumar Sarma retained the cricket secretary post winning the election by a single vote against Mukut Kalita in the Annual General Meeting of the Gauhati Sports Association which was held at the RG Baruah Sports complex today.

Mukut Kalita, the former state cricketer, this time decided to contest against Ranjit Kumar Sarma and he even maged to give good fight also. But at the end Mukut lost the contest by a single vote. Ranjit earned 40 votes while Mukut received 39 votes.

Election was held for the five posts today during the Annual General Meeting of the Gauhati Sports Association. Except the cricket section, the other contests were one sided affair. Munin Nobis (53) retained the president post defeating Dilip Shankar Saikia (28) by a comfortable margin. In the Vice president posts (general) bab Ali (63) and Amarendra th (57) declared winner while the third candidates Ranjan Kumar Medhi, who lost the contest, received 28 votes. Kartik Phukan also retained his vice president post (education) beating Dr Rukmini Borah by 60-18. There was not too much contest in the Assistant General Secretary posts too. Debashish Bose (55) and Dhrubajyoti Kalita (64), who received highest votes among the all candidates in this election, retained their posts defeating Raj Kakoti (31).

The complete list of the new committee of the Gauhati Sports Association: President: Munin Nobis. Vice President: bab Ali and Amarendra th (general). Kartik Phukan (education). General Secretary: Bhola Boro. Assistant General Secretary: Debashish Bose and Dhrubajyoti Kalita. Joint Secretary: Pradip Hazarika. Treasurer: Zahirul Haq. Football Secretary : L Prab Singh. Cricket Secretary: Ranjit Kumar Sarma. Basketball Secretary: Kamini Sarma. Volleyball Secretary: Amba Saikia Patgiri. Badminton Secretary: L Hemanta Singh. Table Tennis Secretary: AHM Ali. Athletic Secretary: Mosleuddin Ahmed. Hockey Secretary: Kajal Paul Choudhury.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News