Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Guwahati take upper hand against Silchar in Nuruddin Cricket

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, March 8: Guwahati are in driver seat against Silchar on the first day of the Nuruddin semifil league match held at the Barsapara stadium here today. Silchar, who elected to bat, were bowled out for paltry 62 runs in their first innings. However Guwahati too didn't bat well in the first innings but still maged to earn 107 runs first innings lead after concluding their first innings 169 runs. Silchar, at stumps, were 41 for no loss in their second innings.

It was the bowlers who domited the first day of the game. Altogether 20 wickets fall on day one. Silchar struggled from the very beginning of their innings and lost wicket on regular interval. Abir Chakraborty and Kon Orang was in the good form and the duo picked up most of the wickets. Abir bagged 4-9 and kon Orang collected 3-21.

In reply batsmen of Guwahati didn't perform as per the expectation and their first innings lasted only 39.3 overs. Bastav Hazarika (48, 85 B, 4x8) was the top scorer while Avijit Singha Roy and Chakya Sarma contributed 27 runs each. Mihir Kanti Deb (4-45) and Prakash Bhagat (3-40) were the most successful bowlers for Silchar. The visitor finished the first day scoring 41-0 in their second innings and they are still trailing by 66 runs.

Meanwhile at the NFRSA stadium gaon, riding on a fine century from Eshan Ravi, scored 363 in their first innings against Dibrugarh. Eshan Ravi took 265 balls to score 153 runs with the help of 20 boundaries and one six. Raj Borah (50) also scored a half century in the first innings Prasanta Sonowal produced a magnificent spell and sent six gaon batsmen into the pavilion giving away 96 runs. At stumps Dibrugarh were 8-0.

Brief score (Barsapara ground): Silchar 1st Innings 62 (31.2 Overs) Raihan Jamil Mazumder 22, Rajdeep Das 21, Abir Chakraborty 4-09, Kon Orang 3-21, Guwahati 1st innings 169 (39.3 Overs), Bastav Hazarika 48, Chakya Sarma 27, Avijit Singha Roy 27, Mihir Kanti Deb 4-45 Prakash Bhagat 3-40, Silchar 2nd Innings 41-0 (12 Overs), Raju Das 19 no, Ambar Bhattacharjee 13 no.

(NFRSA Stadium, Maligaon): gaon 1st Innings 363 (87.5 Overs), Eshan Ravi 153, Raj Borah 50, Aniket Bhowmik 34,bajit Borah 31, Amit Sinha 31, Prasanta Sonowal 6-96, Dibrugarh 1st innings 8-0.

Next Story