Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Harya 140/7 on day 1

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Nov 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Nov 7: Assam made good start against Harya in the group 'A' Ranji trohy tie which got under way at Rohtak today. Harya, who won the toss and elected bat, are 140-7 in their first innings at stumps on day one. Two pace bowlers Krish Das (4-44) and Dhiraj Goswami (3-37) shared all seven wickets that the home team lost on the first day where only 60 overs play were possible because of bad weather.

As expected Rahul Hazarika, who recently scored two double hundreds in the Col CK yudu cricket tourment, made his debut in the Ranji trophy today. Assam also brought in Dhiraj Goswami in place of Kul Saikia to strengthen the pace bowling attack.

Harya missed the service of Virendra Sehwag in this game and the team started to struggle from the very beginning of their innings. The side lost first wickets when the score was only five and lost second opener adding just 15 runs on that score. Both the openers were removed by Krish Das, Thereafter HJ Ra and RP Sarma tried to stitch the innings adding 73 runs on the third wicket partnership but once Dhiraj Goswami sent back H J Ra (56) and broke the partnership Assam came back strongly in the game.

Krish, who is in good touch this season, picked up four wickets today and took his tally to 23 in the current edition of the game. Dhiraj Goswami, who was not in the first 15 that selectors announced for this game and later included on the suggestion of coach Sath Kumar, justified his selection by picking remaining three wickets that Harya lost today.


Harya 1st innings: R Dewan c Sharma b K Das 9 N Saini c Sharma b K Das 1 HJ Ra c Tarjinder Singh b Goswami 56 RP Sharma not out 42 J Yadav lbw b Goswami 0 S Ra c Arun Karthik b K Das 1 PY Tehlan b Goswami 1 RR Dalal c Sharma b K Das 17 HV Patel not out 6 Extras (b 4, lb 3) 7 Total (7 wickets; 60 overs) 140.

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-20, 3-93, 4-93, 5-94, 6-99, 7-131,

Bowling: K Das 21-6-44-4 AK Das 14-4-31-0 DS Goswami 19-4-37-3 P Das 2-0-10-0, J Syed Mohammad 3-0-9-0, Amit Verma 1-0-2-0.

Next Story