Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Harya earn 1st innings lead

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 Nov 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Nov 8: Harya earned a significant 48-run first innings lead against Assam in the group 'A' Ranji trophy encounter held at Rohtak today. In reply to Harya's first innings total of 168 Assam today bowled out paltry 120 runs in the first innings. Harya too struggling in the second innings and were 15-3 at sumps on day two.

Already 23 wickets were fallen in the match, 16 of them fall today, and there is enough indication that it will be more difficult to bat on this wicket as the match will progress. So 48 runs lead can become very handy for the hosts unless Assam batsmen really perform as per the expectation in the second innings.

Harya started the second day's play from their overnight score 140-7 in their first innings and added only 28 runs before losing remain three wickets. Krish Das picked up two more wickets to finish with 6-56, his fourth five-wicket haul in the season, while the other wicket that Harya lost today was bagged by Dhiraj Goswami (4-38).

Assam made a good start as both the openers - Pallav Kumar Das and Rahul Hazarika added 34, the highest partnership in the innings, before wickets started to fall on regular interval. Captain Gokul Sharma top-scored with a 91-ball 43 runs and there are eight hits to the fence. Rahul Hazarika, who made Ranji trophy debut in this game, was the second highest scorer for the side. The batsman contributed 23 runs, which included two boundaries, on the board. Amit Verma (20) was the other notable contributor. On the other hand seven Assam batsman today failed to score double figure runs in the first innings. Ashish Hooda did most of the damage with figures of 4 for 27 in 13.2 overs.

Assam hit back late in the day with three top-order wickets to reduce Harya to 15 for 3. Krish Das bagged one wicket while the other two were collected by Arup Das.


Harya 1st innings: R Dewan c Sharma b K Das 9 N Sainic Sharma b K Das 1 HJ Ra c Tarjinder Singh b Goswami 56 RP Sharma b K Das 45 J Yadav lbw b Goswami 0 S Ra c Arun Karthik b K Das 1 PY Tehlan b Goswami 1 RR Dalal c Sharma b K Das 17 HV Patel not out 20 MM Sharma c Arun Karthik b Goswami 11 AH Hooda b K Das 0 Extras (b 4, lb 3) 7 Total (all out; 70.5 overs) 168.

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-20, 3-93, 4-93, 5-94, 6-99, 7-131, 8-148, 9-167,10-168.

Bowling: K Das 26.5-8-56-6, AK Das 18-4-46-0, DS Goswami 20-4-38-4, P Das 2-0-10-0, J Syed Mohammad 3-0-9-0, Amit Verma 1-0-2-0

Assam 1st innings: P Das c S Ra b Hooda 11 RG Hazarika c S Ra b Patel 23 Tarjinder Singh b Hooda 5 Amit Verma c Dalal b MM Sharma 20 KB Arun Karthik c Dalal b Patel 3 G Sharma lbw b Hooda 43 J Syed Mohammad c Saini b Patel 5 S Purkayastha b S Ra 0 DS Goswami c Yadav b MM Sharma 6 AK Das not out 0 K Das c S Ra b Hooda 2 Extras (lb 1, nb 1) 2 Total (all out; 52.2 overs) 120.

Fall of wickets 1-34, 2-36, 3-39, 4-51, 5-67, 6-91, 7-92, 8-101, 9-118, 10-120.

Bowling: MM Sharma 13-3-48-2, HV Patel 19-6-37-3, AH Hooda 13.2-3-27-4, J Yadav1-0-4-0, S Ra 6-3-3-1

Harya 2nd innings: N Saini not out 11 R Dewan c Arun Karthik b AK Das 0 J Yadav b AK Das 0 RP Sharma lbw b K Das 4 HJ Ra not out 0 Extras 0 Total (3 wickets; 13 overs) 15

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-10, 3-15, Bowling: K Das 5-2-8-1 AK Das 6-4-5-2 DS Goswami 2-1-2-0.

Next Story