Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Home ministry to develop 18 border villages in Aruchal

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 March 2018 12:00 AM GMT

From A Correspondent

ITAGAR, March 16: The tendency of migration of people living in border areas of Aruchal Pradesh is all set to change now with the Union Home Ministry selecting 18 villages in the State to be developed as model villages.

This was announced on Friday by the Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju along with a slew of other economic packages for the State during a press conference at civil secretariat here.

Under the Border Area Development Programme (BADP), Singbir in West Siang and Gelling in Upper Siang would be adopted as model villages in the first phase, for which a total of Rs 23.14 crore has been sanctioned, Rijiju informed.

The remaining sixteen villages have been sanctioned Rs 2 crore each.

“The model villages will have all the basic amenities and will focus on all the priority sectors like health, water, electricity and infrastructure,” the Minister disclosed, adding, fund for the model villages would be separated from the regular Border Area Development Programme (BADP) that are funded annually to border areas.

Understanding the immense contribution of Vivekanda Kendra Vidhyalayas (VKVs) in the field of education over the last many decades in the State, the Home Ministry also sanctioned a total of Rs 80 crore for establishing new VKVs as well as upgrading the existing VKVs.

“An amount of Rs 60 crore has been sanctioned for establishment of new VKVs at Anini, Lazu, fra and Mukto while the rest will be utilised to upgrade the existing VKVs at Amliang, Niusa, Koloriang and Chayangtajo,” Rijiju said.

Rijiju also informed that since most of the ITBP (Indo Tibetan Border Police) deployment is at Aruchal Pradesh, for better magement of Indo-Chi border, the Frontier Headquarters of the ITBP would now be shifted from Shillong to Itagar.

He also said that the Sector Headquarters of ITBP would be established at Likabali in Lower Siang district and the Battalion Headquarters would be now retained at Basar instead of shifting to Dibrugarh in Assam as earlier decided.

Aruchal Pradesh would also get a NDRF battalion, the country’s premier disaster response force, the headquarters of which would be established at Holongi near here at a cost of Rs 153 crore, Rijiju disclosed and added that the State would also get two Indian Reserve battalions of its own.

The Union Minister further disclosed that for strengthening of the police infrastructure in troubled Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts, a revised project with estimated cost of Rs 212.85 crore has been sanctioned by the Ministry.

Rijiju congratulated the people of the State for reaping the benefits of the Centre. He also appreciated the effort of the Chief Minister Pema Khandu and his team for concentrating on the implementation of the sanctioned projects in the State.

Next Story