Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

House approves resolution on coal mining in State

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Shillong, March 23: The Meghalaya Assembly today unimously approved the Government Resolution tabled by Chief Minister in-charge Mining and Geology Dr. Mukul Sangma urging the Government of India to issue Presidential Notification seeking exemption from application Mines & Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 and Coal Mines (tiolization) Act, 1973.

According to the Resolution, the Government had notified the Meghalaya Mines & Minerals Policy, 2012 to promote safe, scientific and sustaible development of mineral resources in the State. However, while implementing the policy, it was found that the customary and traditiol practices and rights were coming in conflict with the provisions of Mines & Minerals Act, 1957 and Coal Mines Act, 1973. It also stated that coal mining had been going on in the State from the pre-independence period in accordance with the customary practices and that the Union Government had also assured it had no intention of disturbing the tribal rights or causing them any hardship.

The Resolution also stated that for compliance with the directives of the tiol Green Tribul, which had imposed a ban on coal mining in the State, it was imperative to resolve the conflict between the customary law, practices and rights and the Central statutes. As such the State Government submitted a proposal to the Centre to issue a Presidential Notification in exercise of power conferred under para 12A (b) of the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India withdrawing the application of Mines & Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957 and Coal Mines (tiolization) Act,1973 to the State of Meghalaya, the Resolution stated and urged upon the Centre to consider the request of the State Government and accordingly issue the Presidential Notification.

The Resolution was taken up for discussion in the House which was participated by former Chief Minister & Adviser to the Government of Meghalaya D D Lapang, Leader of the Opposition Dr. Donkupar Roy, other Opposition members Paul Lyngdoh, K P Pangniang, Witting Mawsor and MLA R. V. Lyngdoh.

Next Story