Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

India take lead, Sri Lankans become fastest

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Feb 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Sports Reporter

Guwahati, Feb 9: Himasha Eashan and RMRK Rathyaka of Sri Lanka became the fastest man and woman respectively of the 12th South Asian Games 2016. The Sri Lankan sprinters won gold for the country in 100m of both men and women events.

While India won five golds, Sri Lanka secured the top spot in four events on the day one of athletics event at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium on Tuesday evening.

Himasha Eashan took 10.28 seconds to win the exciting category of the games and created Games Record. He broke Anil Kumar’s 17 years old record.

The silver was notched by Saaid Hassan of Maldives (10.41 sec) and bronze by Alam Ashrafa of Sri Lanka (10.65sec). India’s Gaurav Kumar needed 10.96 sec to secure 7th position.

RMRK Rathyaka very rrowly beat Srabani nda of India in women’s 100 m. The Sri Lankan girl took 11.71 sec while the local favourite clocked 11.72 sec. Dutee Chand of India climed the bronze medal with 11.75 sec.

In 5000m, India won gold both in men's and women's categories, with Man Singh and L Surya bringing the laurels respectively.

In 800m for women's, Sri Lanka's WKLA Nimali won the gold, while GTA Abeyrath, also of Sri Lanka, and Gomathi M of India secured the silver and bronze respectively.

In women's shot put, India's Manpreeth Kaur (senior) clinched the gold, while Manpreet Kaur (junior) won the silver and WTK Ferndo of Sri Lanka won the bronze.

India's Neeraj Kumar secured the gold in men's hammer throw. The silver was won by Shakeel Ahmed of Pakistan and LADEP Alansan of Sri Lanka clinched the bronze.

In women's long jump, India's Mayookha Jhony notched the gold, while the silver went to Shradha Ghule Bhaskar, also of India, and bronze to SLS Silva of Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka's Manjula Kumar clinched the gold in high jump for men, with the silver going to Tejaswani Shankar and bronze to Ajay Kumar, both of India.

In 5000m for men, the silver was notched by Suresh Kumar of India and the bronze by Rimal Hari Kumar of Nepal.

In women's 5000m, the silver was won by India's Swati Gadhave and bronze by UK Rathayake of Sri Lanka.

Next Story