ITSSA terms Bill a conspiracy to annihilate indigenous people of Assam

GUWAHATI, May 28: The Indigenous Tribal Sahitya Sabhas,’ Assam (ITSSA) has strongly criticized and opposed the camouflaged agenda of the BJP-led NDA government to accommodate lakhs of foreign nationals in the land of Assam by introducing the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016. The ITSSA said that
Further intensifying its resistance to the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 the Indigenous Tribal Sahitya Sabhas,’ Assam (ITSSA) has argued that “The Centre’s proposed legislation is nothing other than a conspiracy to annihilate the indigenous people of Assam from its own territory.” The ITSSA accused that the jatiya nayak (national hero) famed Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has been trying to wipe out the indigenous and the ethnic tribal of Assam dictated by Narendra Modi.

Reiterating that the tribal literary bodies will resist the Bill in tooth and nail, the ITSSA made it clear that the Modi-led BJP regime’s attempt to create turbulence in Assam by dividing the illegal migrants on the basis of religion and their effort to turn Assam into a permanent place for preservation of the foreigners will never be accepted. The ITSSA further blamed that both the Centre and the State government has been trying to convert Assam into a grazing land for the foreign nationals ignoring the sentiment and anxiety of the people of Assam.

The ITSSA has cautioned the Centre and the State government to refrain from such camouflaged agenda and asked the Home Ministry to withdraw the contentious legislation which was introduced without consulting the people of Assam.
The ITSSA also termed the formation of the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 as unfortunate and maliciously created by the BJP to strife the people of Assam. The ITSSA was addressing the media from its temporary office located at Bathoupuri, near ISBt, Guwahati on May 28.

The ITSSA is a conglomeration of the indigenous Tribal Sahitya Sabhas of Assam that includes Karbi Sahitya Sabha, Bodo Sahitya Sabha, Rabha Sahitya Sabha, Deori Sahitya Sbha, Dimasa Sahitya Sabha, Mising Sahitya Sabha, Tiwa Sahitya Sabha and the garo Sahitya Sabha.