Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Junior men & women players med for tiol hockey camps

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  25 May 2017 12:00 AM GMT

New Delhi, May 24: Hockey India (HI) on Wednesday selected 53 men and 37 women players for the junior tiol camps based on their performances in the recently concluded tiol championships.

A group of 53 men and 37 women reported to the Sports Authority of India (SAI), Bengaluru on May 24 for a five-week camp that will further identify talent who can represent the country in the junior category for the upcoming intertiol tourments.

The camp will conclude on June 30 and July 3 for Junior Men and Women teams respectively. With their vision set on the 2020 Junior World Cups, Hockey India is trying to create a strong pool of players for the prestigious event where the boys will defend the coveted title.

“After overwhelming performances by players from across various states in the country, Hockey India’s selection committee has med the probables who would be further pruned down to form a Core Group of 33 Junior men and women players respectively on June 3, with an intention to develop a strong pool of players who can go on to represent the country in major tourments,” HI Secretary General Mushtaque Ahmad said.

“Under the purview of Hockey India’s High Performance Director David John, the young players will be put through a five-week camp which will focus on basics, strength and conditioning and team building activities before we prune down the group and prepare the teams for upcoming intertiol tourments.”

Core group probables:

Junior Men:

Goalkeepers: Pankaj Kumar Rajak (Steel Plant Sports Board), Kamalbir Singh (Hockey Punjab), Tanuj Gulia (Hockey Harya), Prashant Kumar Chauhan (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Karanjot Singh Mann (Hockey Rajasthan), AS. Sentamizh Arasu (Services Sports Control Board)

Defenders: Suman Beck (Hockey Odisha), Harmanjit Singh (Hockey Punjab), Manish Sharma (Sports Authority of India), Mandeep Mor (Hockey Harya), Mohd. Faraz (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Kishore Arya (Hockey Delhi), Mandeep (Hockey Chandigarh), Harshdeep Kapoor (Hockey Bhopal), Rahul Shinde (Hockey Maharashtra), Prince (Punjab & Sind Bank), Mohammad Tanveer (Assam Hockey), Pratap Lakra (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha)

Midfielders: Innocent Munda (Steel Plant Sports Board), Varinder Singh (Hockey Punjab), Sunny Malik (Hockey Harya), Vishal Antil (Hockey Harya), Yashdeep Siwach (Hockey Harya), Vishal Singh (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Vivek Sagar Prasad (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Akshay Avasthi (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Sukhjeet Singh (Hockey Chandigarh), Rabichandra Singh (Manipur Hockey), Harish Mutagar (Hockey Kartaka), Lokesh Bora (Hockey Uttarakhand), Dichandra Singh (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy)

Forwards: Shiland Lakra (Steel Plant Sports Board), Rajat Minz (Steel Plant Sports Board), Jai Prakash Patel (Steel Plant Sports Board), Dilpreet Singh (Hockey Punjab), Mohd. Saif Khan (Sports Authority of India), Roshan Kumar ( Sports Authority of India), Abhishek (Hockey Harya), Iktidar Ishrat (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Shivam And (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Rahul Kumar Rajbhar (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Rajendra M (Hockey Kartaka), Mohd Alishan (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Sanjay (Hockey Chandigarh), Maninder Singh (Hockey Chandigarh), K. Ibungo Singh (Manipur Hockey), T. Kiron Kumar Singh (Manipur Hockey), Venkatesh Kenche (Hockey Maharashtra), Rahul (Services Sports Control Board), And Kumar Bara (Hockey Bihar), Gurshahzad Singh (Hockey Patiala), Ranjit Chand Bhawani (Telanga Hockey), Ramandeep Singh (Hockey Jammu & Kashmir)

Junior Women:

Goalkeepers: Khushboo (Hockey Bhopal), Varjinder Kaur (Hockey Him), Bichu Devi Kharibam (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Chanchal (Hockey Chandigarh)

Defenders: Priyanka (Hockey Harya), Asmita Barla (Hockey Odisha), Gagandeep Kaur (Hockey Harya), Manisha Chauhan (Hockey Uttarakhand), Supriya Mundu (Hockey Jharkhand), Mahima Chaudhary (Hockey Harya), Umra (Hockey Him), Antim (Hockey Him), Ishika Choudhary (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), M.E. Dhruthi (Hockey Kartaka), Alka Dung Dung (Sports Authority of India)

Midfielders: Suman Devi Thoudam (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Salima Tete (Hockey Jharkhand), Sunita Yadav (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Maria Kujur (Hockey Odisha), Priyanka Ekka (Hockey Odisha), Manju Chorsiya (Hockey Him), Baljeet Kaur (Hockey Punjab), Jyoti (Association of Indian Universities), Jiwan Kishori Toppo (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha), Sadh Senger (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Primanjali Toppo (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha)

Forwards: Reet (Hockey Harya), Sangita Kumari (Hockey Jharkhand), Deepika Soreng (Hockey Jharkhand), Remsiami (Sports Authority of India), Lalrindiki (Hockey Mizoram), vneet Kaur (Hockey Harya), Amrinder Kaur (Hockey Harya), Mumtaz Khan (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Amritpal Kaur (Hockey Chandigarh), Janhabi Pradhan (Hockey Gangpur Odisha), Yogita Bora (Uttar Pradesh Hockey) (IANS)

Next Story