Breaking News

Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran and K M Joseph were today sworn in as judges of the Supreme Court

Three new Chief Justices

The Chief Justice of India Justice Deepak Misra administered the oath of the three Chief Justices of three High Courts as the Supreme Court judges today. the three chief justices of the three high courts are Madras High Court Chief Justice Indira Banerjee, Orissa High Court Chief Justice Vineet Saran and Uttarakhand High Court Chief Justice KM Joseph, respectively.

With this new swearing in the three new chief justices into the Supreme court, the total number of judges in the apex court has increased to 25. The appointments of the chief justices have already been issued by the Supreme Court and the warrants of appointment were signed by the President on Friday.

The Madras High Court Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Orissa High Court Chief Justice Vineet Saran were appointed Judges of  High Courts in February 2002. The other Chief Justice, KM Joseph of Uttarakhand High Court had joined in October 2004.

The procedure of selecting the three Chief Justices have been done as per the conventions only and their seniority will also be determined on the basis of their swearing-in as judges of High Courts. So, as per the dates of joining of the Chief Justices in their respective high courts, Justice Indira Banerjee will be the senior-most among the three, followed by Justice Vinit Sarin and Justice KM Joseph.

However, the selection of the three chief justices has led to both appreciations and criticisms from the citizens. People are found to have tweeted against the selection of justice KM Joseph. For some, Justice Joseph was not suitable to be selected as the Chief Justice and the proposal to elevate him as the Supreme Court Chief Justice was controversial.

Justice Indira Banerjee hails from Kolkata while Justice Kuttiyil Mathew Joseph (KM Joseph) was born in Kochi, Kerala.