Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

KMSS to form new political force at 4th biennial conference

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT


SIVASAGAR, March 17: The 4th biennial conference of Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) will be held at Dichaw Batua playground at Diroi Rangoli in Sivasagar district from March 18 to March 20 where Assam will witness the formation of a new political force.

Addressing a press conference at Sibsagar Press Club on Tuesday, KMSS president and anti-graft activist Akhil Gogoi said, “The present political scerio in Assam is disastrous. The State is experiencing political uncertainty and fincial lapses due to anti-people policies of existing political parties in the State.”

Criticizing the BJP, the Congress and the AIUDF, Gogoi said, “The policies of the BJP, the Congress and the AIUDF may be different but their ideology is same, which is to play with the religious sentiments of the people and to warm up their pockets. At this crucial juncture, a new altertive political force is the need of the hour. That is why, a new political altertive will emerge from the conference.” “In the conference, a new direction will be given to Assam’s political future and economical roadmap for the State will also be prepared,” the peasant leader further added.

Speaking about the conference, Gogoi said, “Veteran Gandhian leader An Hazare will start his movement as a peasant leader from this conference. A huge number of peasant activists under the leadership of An Hazare, will rent the air of Delhi on May 1. The main motive of that movement will be Modi Hatao, Desh bachao.”

“The KMSS has not received any dotion from any capitalist to hold the conference. Peasants of Sivasagar and Dibrugarh have made all arrangements with their products to receive the guests. The budget of the conference is about Rs 16 lakh,” added Gogoi.

Gogoi also said that noted persolities like Raja Gopalji, Rajendra Singh and water specialist Himanshu Thakkar would grace the occasion, while artistes like Kalpa Patowary, Pulak Berjee, Tarali Sharma, Lokth Goswamia and Manosh Robin would enthrall the gathering at a cultural programme to be held on the concluding day.

Next Story