Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Kohli med captain of World T20 dream team

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 April 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Mumbai, April 4: Following his sublime form in the World T20, India’s star batsman Virat Kohli has been med the skipper of the Intertiol Cricket Council’s (ICC) men’s dream team of the tourment.

Kohli’s compatriot and veteran pacer Ashish Nehra have been med as the 11th man in the squad, ICC said in a release on Monday.

“The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tourment. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections,” the release said.

The West Indies women’s World T20 winning skipper Stafanie Taylor has been med the captain of the women’s team.

“The experts chose India’s Virat Kohli as captain of the men’s side while Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies was med to lead the women’s line-up,” the ICC release said.

The men’s team, including 12th man, contained four players from England, two players each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa.

The women’s team comprised four players from New Zealand, two players each from Australia, England and the West Indies, and one player each from Pakistan and South Africa.

“The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event,” ICC General Mager - Cricket, Geoff Allardice said in the release.

“In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions,” Allardice said.

The selection panel that chose ICC teams of the World T20 consisted of Allardice, Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler), sser Hussain (former England captain), Mel Jones (former Australia women’s batter), Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman) and Lisa Sthalekar (former Australia women’s all-rounder). IANS



Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh) (12th man)


Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), Am Amin (Pakistan) (12th player)

Next Story