Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Krish-Arup wrap up Harya at 111

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Nov 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Assam need 38 with 6 wickets in hand

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Nov 9: Assam edged closer to earn second victory in this season Ranji trophy championship. The side needed another 38 runs to beat Harya in group 'A' match currently in progress at Rohtak..

Chasing 160 runs to win, Assam finished the third day's play at 122-4 in their second innings. Amit Verma and captain Gokul Sarma remained not out 24 and 10 runs respectively. Arun Karthick played a vital innings of 48 runs before he got out.

Earlier two fantastic spells from Assam pacers Arup Das and Krish Das put Assam in a good position for the second time in the match. Entire Harya team were bundled out for paltry 111 runs. Krish, who picked up six wickets in the first innings, collected another four in the second to take his match haul to 10-104. It is the second time Krish, who is in great form this season, picked up ten wickets in a match in the season. The right handed bowler is now in the third position in most wicket taker list of the season with 29 wickets from five games. Krish got good support from Arup Das in the second innings. Arup was also bang on target in the second innings. The right handed pacers picked up six wickets giving away 39 runs. Himangshu Ra (27) was the top scorer for Harya in the second innings.

The fall of wickets seeped into Assam's second innings as well with Ashish Hooda dismissing both openers Pallav Kumar das and Rahul Hazarika.Tarjinder Singh, coming in at No.3, fell to Mohit Sharma for a 12-ball duck, but Amit Verma and Arun Karthik steadied Assam with a 76-run partnership before Arun got out.Arun was on the wicket for 92 minutes and hit six boundaries.


Harya 1st innings 168.

Assam 1st innings 120.

Harya 2nd innings: N Saini b K Das 18 R Dewan c Arun Karthik b AK Das 0 J Yadav b AK Das 0 RP Sharma lbw b K Das 4 HJ Ra c Sharma b AK Das 27 S Ra c Syed Mohammad b K Das 6 PY Tehlan lbw b AK Das 15 RR Dalal c Sharma b AK Das 0 HV Patel c P Das b K Das 19 MM Sharma b AK Das 19 AH Hooda not out 0 Extras (lb 3) 3 Total (all out; 50.3 overs) 111

Fall of wickets 1-4, 2-10, 3-15, 4-26, 5-48, 6-67, 7-67, 8-72, 9-100, 10-111.

Bowling: K Das 21-3-48-4 AK Das 19.3-7-39-6 DS Goswami 10-3-21-0

Assam 2nd innings: P Das lbw b Hooda 11 R Hazarika c Dewan b Hooda 24 Tarjinder Singh c S Ra b MM Sharma 0 Amit Verma not out 24 KB Arun Karthik st Dalal b Yadav 48 G Sharma not out 10 Extras (b 4, w 1) 5 Total (4 wickets; 38 overs) 122.

Fall of wickets 1-20, 2-35, 3-35, 4-111.

Bowling: HV Patel 10-2-23-0 AH Hooda 12-1-53-2 MM Sharma 10-3-25-1S Ra 1-0-9-0 J Yadav 5-1-8-1.

Next Story