Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Krish leads Assam fight back

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  16 Oct 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Oct 15: Lead by pace bowler Krish Das (4-5), Assam came back strongly against Odisha in the Group A Ranji trophy match in Cuttack today. Visitors, who were bowled out paltry 92 in the first innings, forced Odisha to finish the day at 52-5 in their first innings.

Assam made one change in the team as pacer Pritam Das took the place of opener Rishav Das. Odisha, who won the toss, didn't think twice to bowl in a perfect bowling friendly wicket. Assam innings struggled from the very beginning and lost Kul Saikia, who today opened innings with Pallav, very early. Thereafter the visitors lost wickets on regular interval and filly bowled out paltry 92 runs. Amit Verma (20) was the top scorer for Assam

Odisha pacer Basanty Mohanty wrecked havoc in Assam camp and picked up five wickets for 24 runs while S Pradhan and A Sahoo bagged two wickets each.

Like Assam the home team too struggled from the early stage of their innings and quickly reduced to 52 for 5 at stumps. Krish, who bowled magnificently against Rajasthan and picked up ten wickets in the last game, once again bowled a superb spell and the top order of Odisha looked absolutely clueless in front of him. Krish bagged four wickets giving away just five runs while Arup Das picked up the other wicket.


Assam 1st innings: P Das c Podder b Sahoo 14 KN Saikiab Pradhan 4 G Sharma c Sarangi b Mohanty 0 Amit Verma c Sahoo b Mangaraj 20 KB Arun Karthik b Mohanty 3 Tarjinder Singh b Mohanty 17 J Syed Mohammad b Mohanty 14 S Purkayastha c sub (P Roshan Kumar Rao) b Sahoo 0 P Das c Sarangi b Pradhan 1 AK Das b Mohanty K Das not out 6

Extras (lb 1, nb 4) 5 Total (all out; 52.4 overs; 239 mins) 92

Fall of wickets 1-4, 2-5, 3-27, 4-36,5-54, 6-74,7-75, 8-78, 9-78,10-92.

Bowling: B Mohanty 14.4-6-24-5 SB Pradhan 10-1-33-2 AK Sahoo 12-6-18-2 A Mangaraj 7-2-13-1 BB Samantray 9-7-3-0

Odisha 1st innings: traj Behera c Saikia b K Das 23 R Dhuper c Tarjinder Singh b K Das 0 GB Podder b K Das 0 AR Sarangi not out 7 PP Das c Saikia b K Das 8 BB Samantray c Saikia b AK Das 5 A Mallick not out 4 Extras (b 4, nb 1) 5 Total (5 wickets; 32 overs) 52.

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-22, 3-23,4-31,5-44

Bowling: AK Das 10-5-33-1K Das 11-8-5-4 P Das 5-3-3-0 PL Das 6-2-7-0

Next Story