Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Kumble re-appointed ICC cricket panel chief; Dravid to debut

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Dubai, May 13: The Intertiol Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday re-appointed former India skipper Anil Kumble as its cricket committee chairman while his teammate Rahul Dravid was added as a member of the panel along with Sri Lanka’s former skipper Mahela Jayawardene.

Kumble, who was appointed the chairman in 2012 was given a three-year extension at the top post, the ICC said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Dravid and Jayawardene have been appointed to the committee, adding even more cricketing experience to the list of eminent people already on the committee.

Dravid and Jayawardene have played 1,161 intertiol matches between them from 1996 to 2015, and each has been appointed for a three-year term. They will attend their first meeting at Lord’s on May 31 and June 1, three weeks before the ICC annual conference takes place in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Dravid has been elected by the current Test captains as current player representatives, replacing former Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara, who has completed his fil three-year term.

Jayawardene has been appointed as a past player representative and takes over from former Australia captain Mark Taylor, who has also completed his fil three-year term.

Former Australia off-spinner and ex-Chief Executive of Federation of Intertiol Cricketers’ Association (FICA), Tim May, has also been elected by the current Test captains as current player representative, replacing Laxman Sivaramakrishn, who has completed his three-year term.

Richard Kettleborough, three-time ICC Umpire of the Year, has been appointed as umpires’ representative in the committee and replaces Steve Davis, who retired last year.

ICC general mager cricket, Geoff Allardice, who also administers the ICC Cricket Committee meeting, said, “I want to thank Mark Taylor, Kumar Sangakkara, Laxman Sivaramakrishn and Steve Davis for their significant contribution to this committee.”

“I welcome Rahul Dravid, Mahela Jayawarde, Tim May and Richard Kettleborough, and I am confident that these highly credentialed individuals will carry on the good work of their predecessors to make the sport even more competitive and attractive,” he added.

Another former India skipper-turned commentator Ravi Shastri has been appointed as the media representative of the world body.

The ICC Cricket Committee is:

Chairman - Anil Kumble (former India captain)

Ex-Officio - Shashank Manohar (ICC Chairman) and David Richardson (ICC Chief Executive)

Past Player representative - Andrew Strauss (former England captain); Mahela Jayawarde (former Sri Lanka captain)

Current Player representative - Rahul Dravid (former India captain); Tim May (former Australia off-spinner and ex-CEO of FICA)

Full Member team coach representative - Darren Lehmann (Australia coach)

Associate representative - Kevin O’Brien (Ireland all-rounder)

Women’s Cricket representative - Clare Connor (former England women’s team captain)

Full Member representative - David White (NZC chief executive)

Media representative - Ravi Shastri (former India captain and a respected commentator)

Umpires’ representative - Richard Kettleborough (member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires)

Referees’ representative - Ranjan Madugalle (ICC chief match referee and former Sri Lanka captain)

MCC representative - John Stephenson (MCC’s Head of Cricket). IANS

Next Story