Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Lakhipur Municipal Board dissolved

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 Dec 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

Silchar, Dec 8: After the Lakhipur Municipal Board (LMB) got dissolved on Tuesday as no confidence motion was brought against chairperson of LMB Rimi Paul by BJP ward commissioners forcing her to resign from the post, the BJP is most likely to form Municipal Board at Lakhipur.

Rimi Paul, thereafter, submitted the resigtion letter to the executive magistrate ADC J R Lalsim. Lakhipur Mandal BJP president and senior BJP leader advocate Sanjay Thakur and Ri Singh of BJP are hopeful that BJP would form the body. The voting was scheduled to take place at 11am on Tuesday at LMB. All the 7 ward commissioners of BJP and vice-chairperson of LMB Mril Kanti Das were present at that time. Now, according to laws and rules, J R Lalsim will have to call for a meeting within 45 days. All the 7 ward commissioners of BJP and 3 of Congress will have to attend the meeting. BJP is likely to nomite 48-year-old Sangeeta Gurum, recipient of B R Ambedkar Award, as the chairperson of LMB. She is currently the ward commissioner of Ward No 5. Her active participation in Swachh Bharat Abhiyan at Phulertool area was highly appreciated from all quarters.

Next Story