Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Legendary drummer Moghai Oja's statue unveiled in Jorhat

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  16 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

JORHAT, March 15: Fulfilling a long cherished dream of the people of Jorhat, the Assam Jatiyatabadi Yuva Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) Jorhat district committee filly presented the statue of renowned drummer Moghai Oja which was formally unveiled by adviser Putul Dutta in Jorhat on Tuesday in presence of a large number of people, AJYCP activists, senior jourlists and rayan Devo Goswami, Xatradhikar of the Kamalabari Xatra of Majuli. From now on, the intersection where the drummer’s statue was unveiled will be known as Moghai Ojaa Tin-Ali of the otherwise Post Office- MG Road. The foundation stone of the statue was laid on December 15, 2015 by Deputy Commissioner Solanki Vishal Vasant, Assam Agriculture University Vice Chancellor Dr KM Bujarbaruah and adviser Putul Dutta.

Advisor Putul Dutta of the AJYCP while talking to The Sentinel, said, “AJYCP has been remembering the renowned artist Moghai Ojaa every year on March 15. We first started by giving award in the me of the drummer to one person every year and by the time we stepped into the fifth year, we started honouring three artists every year with a citation and a cash award of Rs 10,000 besides gamusa, seleng, xarai. The statue was our dream and we are thankful to the Jorhat district administration, especially the Deputy Commissioner for allotting us with this piece of land. Our aim is to keep the history of Moghai Ojaa intact for our future generations to come.”

Many people have doted in cash towards the construction of a permanent statute of Moghai Ojaa and a special initiative was taken by one Kamal Jallan of Jorhat who facilitated the availability of a 400 kg one single piece marble upon which sculptors gave the shape of the drummer. Incidentally, Kamal Jallan is a member of the Jorhat AJYCP and president of the Moghai Ojaa Statue Construction and Organizing Committee. This year too three artists mely Ambeshwar Bora Ojaa, folk artist and actress Ranja Sarma Bordoloi and drum artist Punyaprova Dutta Tamuly were honoured and presented with the Moghai Ojaa Award which was given by adviser Putul Dutta in presence of AJYCP central organizing secretary Siba Kalita, Zakir Hussain in-charge president and Prabjyoti Saikia, general secretary AJYCP.

Next Story