Mahathir names three Cabinet ministers

Kuala Lumpur, May 12: Newly-elected Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad on Saturday named three ministers in his “small Cabinet” and announced the establishment of a “council of elders” to advise the government, taking the first step in governing the country. The three new ministers — all leaders of the Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition parties — were Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng, Defence Minister Mohamad Sabu and Minister of Home Affairs Muhyiddin Yassin, Xinhua news agency reported. Mahathir announced the appointments after a meeting attended by key PH leaders. The three names fell short of his earlier promise to announce 10 ministers and were much fewer than the previous number of over 25. (IANS)