Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Major administrative overhaul in Jammu and Kashmir

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  16 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Jammu, March 15: In a major sweep, the Jammu and Kashmir government on Sunday ordered the transfer of nearly 55 senior officials of the civil and police departments almost a fortnight after the PDP-BJP combine assumed power.

However, the Mufti Muhammad Sayeed government retained B.B. Vyas, the principal secretary to former chief minister Omar Abdullah. Similarly, Chief Secretary Muhammad Iqbal Khandey and Director General of Police (DGP) K. Rajendra Kumar were also retained. A cabinet meeting here chaired by the chief minister ordered the transfer of top Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, including officers of the rank of principal secretaries and commissioners.

This is the first major overhaul after the Peoples Democratic Party-Bharatiya Jata Party alliance took charge on March 1. Over half a dozen inspectors general of police (IGPs) and deputy inspectors general of police (DIGs) are among the senior IPS officers transferred.

The cabinet has recommended Lateef-ul-Zaman Deva, a senior IAS officer, to the state governor for appointment as the chairman of the State Public Service Commission, the topmost recruitment body in the state. It also appointed Riyaz Ahmad Jan as the new advocate general of the state.

Senior IAS officer Pawan Kotwal has been posted as divisiol commissioner Jammu, while Syed Gazanfar Hussain will be the new divisiol commissioner of the Kashmir division. Rohit Kansal is the new commissioner/secretary of the public works department while Shantmanu has been appointed as principal secretary health.

Principal Secretary-Home Suresh Kumar was relieved for central deputation after he sought the transfer. The post will now be held by B.R. Sharma, fincial commissioner-planning department. S.J.M. Gillani is the new IGP Kashmir zone, while Danish Ra will be the new IGP Jammu zone. (IANS)

Next Story