Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Mohilary to form Planning and Development Board

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 April 2015 12:00 AM GMT


KOKRAJHAR, April 21: BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary on Tuesday allocated the departments to the Executive Members (EMs) of the new executive council to carry out development works in their respective constituencies with new strategy and vigour. Giving priority to the development of the people of the region, he also decided to form a separate planning and development board to look after the implementation of all developmental schemes. He said that there would be a crucial meeting of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) at Bodoland Guest House in Guwahati on Wednesday to discuss the party’s strategy to strengthen the party as well as to find out the reasons for the loss in various seats in the last council election.

Talking to media persons at the Secretariat conference hall here, BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary said that there would be a discussion regarding the party’s strategy and follow-up action after the loss in some of the seats in the last council election. BPF could get only 20 seats out of the 40 BTC constituencies. Mohilary said that nearly 20,000 women Self-Help Groups (SHGs) in the BTC would be benefitted under his women-oriented schemes. Mohilary said 500 SHGs in each constituency would be provided cheques of Rs 10,000 per SHG every year to sustain their projects. Mohilary announced 30 per cent reservation for women in the Village Council Development Committee (VCDC) and altertive to Gram Panchayat. He said that the Planning and Development Board would be constituted under a chairman to monitor the smooth functioning and proper implementation of the development schemes.

The BTC chief also announced the departments allotted to the Executive Members (EM) of the new council. Mohilary will look after PWD, P&RD, WPT and BC (All central Fund), IBA and other departments not allotted to other EMs. Deputy Chief Kampa Borgoyary has been allotted his previous two departments - Forest and Tourism, and the Education Department. EM Lwmsrao Daimary has been allotted PHE, Museum and Archaeology and Excise; EM Bonjar Daimary has been allotted Food Civil Supplies and Consumers Affairs, Cinema and Cultural Affairs, EM Rajib Brahma has been allotted Irrigation and WPT and BC (Plan Fund) while Social Welfare and Information and Public Relations has been allotted to EM Mritunjoy rzary. EM Alindra Mushahary has been allotted Land and Revenue and Disaster Magement, Printing and Statiory and Market and Fairs, EM Ganesh Kochary has been allotted Health Services and Cottage Industry while EM Doneswar Goyary has been given the charge of Urban Development, Town and Country Planning, Sports and Youth Welfare. EM Ansumoi Khunggur Boro has been given Agriculture and Weight and Measure. EM Deben Boro has been given Handloom and Textile and Sericulture. EM Shyam Sundi has been allotted Fishery, Animal Husbandry and Veteriry and Labour and Employment. Soil conservation, Transport and Cooperation departments have gone to EM Jagadish Sarkar. EM Maheswar Basumatary has been given Water Resources and Library Services.

Mohilary also said that for now the development boards, including Territorial Level Coordition Committee (TCLCC), VCDC and advisory board, except Central Selection Board (CSB) had been dissolved. He also said that new chairmen would be selected for the advisory and development boards soon.

Next Story