Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

NBMSU, BMGSP launch membership drive

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 Aug 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Special Correspondent

Silchar, Aug 18: Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Students’ Union (NBMSU) in coordition with Bishnupriya Manipuri Ga Sangram Parishad (BMGSP), central committee, Chencoorie, near this town, has been on enrollment of members across the three districts of Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi of Barak Valley. It started with the formation of committees in Silchar College and Tilak Sinha Junior College with 51 members. The drive began on August 7. It has been pointed out by Gaurav Rajkumar, working president, NBMSU, that the students belonging to Bishnupriya Manipuri community will be enrolled in different colleges, junior colleges, higher secondary and high schools with their inhabited areas of Assam.

The committee in Silchar College and Tilak Sinha Junior College have been constituted in the presence of Gaurav Rajkumar, president of the central committee of NBMSU, Mantosh Sinha, general secretary, Bir Kumar Sinha, chief organizing secretary, Tutu Sinha, organizing secretary, Bikramjit Sharma, publicity secretary, and Gitashree Sinha, member of the central executive committee. The committee of Silchar College and Tilak Sinha Junior College has been formed with Aryajit Sinha as president, Varsha Sinha as vice-president, Suraj Sinha as secretary, Nisha Sinha as assistant secretary, along with Manua Sinha, Arun Sinha, Sajan Sinha, Mitali Sinha and ndita Sinha as executive members.

Following it, another committee of NBMSU in Kalipipla High School in Patharkandie constituency of Karimganj has also been formed with 150 members. The committee has been constituted with Biman Sinha as president, Prakash Sinha as vice-president, Mahitosh Sinha as secretary, Sukanta Sinha as assistant secretary and 7 executive members. In order to make the committee more effective, social activist Gopal Das Sinha, Sunil Sinha, Dilip Sharma and Mamata Sinha have been inducted as chief advisors.

Gaurav Rajkumar pointed out NBMSU and BMGSP would jointly continue the drive for membership in other educatiol institutions. Both the organizations would also carry forward the demands for introduction of Bishnupriya Manipuri language at the primary stage of education, grant of OBC status to the community as well as broadcast of Bishnupriya Manipuri programme in All India Radio and also its telecast from Silchar Doordarshan Kendra.

Gaurav Rajkumar said formation of committees would strengthen the base of the twin organizations and also provide impetus to their outstanding demands hanging for the last 10 years. Besides, the NBMSU and BMGSP have also been voicing their demands for the appointment of Bishnupriya Manipuri language teachers in all those schools where the language is taught. Bir Kumar Sinha explained to the students taken as members of the Students’ Union the role played by the NBMSU. He at the same time spoke about the various schemes for the welfare of the students, boys and girls, in the present and also in future.

Next Story