Newly-elected MLAs felicitated by senior citizens

From our Correspondent

BILASIPARA, June 16:  Under the aegis of Bilasipara Senior Citizens Forum, Hafiz Basir Ahmed, newly-elected MLA from Bilasipara West LAC and Ashok Kumar Singh, newly-elected MLA from Bilasipara East LAC were felicitated on Thursday.

In this connection a meeting was held in the premises of Bilasipara Sub-Divisiol Public Library with Jagadanda Barkalita in the chair. The meeting condoled the immature death of APCC president Anjan Dutta and by observing one minute silence, expressed deep condolence and prayed for the eterl peace of the departed soul. Thereafter both the MLAs were felicitated with xarai, phoolam gamosa and books.

A memorandum addressed to both the MLAs was read out by Dayal Paul, working president of Bilasiparta Senior Citizens Forum, containing burning problems of Bilasipara subdivision, including proper operation of the Bilasipara 100-bedded civil hospital, conversion of Bilasipara civil subdivision into district, proper implementation of Food Security Act, immediate implementation of water supply scheme, immediate solution of LPG crisis, immediate completion of New Moiguri – Jogighopa Rail line, shifting of Bilasipara Sub-Divisiol HQ from Gourang gar to Bilasipara town, setting up of sub-divisiol public library-cum-auditorium, operation of proposed bus terminus, regular supply of electricity, maintaining  of status quo in respect of alleged conspiracy to shift the Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) from Bilasipara to Rangamati Agriculture University campus.

Some other organizations like Bilasipara Sub-Divisiol Public Library, Bilasipara Moimati Silpi Samaj, Bilasipara Lekhika Samaroha and Bilasipra Mahila Sangha also felicitated both the MLAs with phoolam gamosa.

The MLAs in reply to the felicitation, promised to render their best services to address the burning problems and sought cooperation from the senior citizens in particular and the public in general for the development of their respective constituencies.

Distinguished persolities like Alhaj Abdul Khaleque, Yousuf Ali Ahmed, former MLA, Dr Haricharan Das, librarian of public library, Dr Kanu Lal Das, social worker, social worker Purandar th, reputed artiste of Goalpariya folk song, Abdul Karim Khan, women leaders like Sahida Begum, Bhanumati Paul, Anita th Podder, Rubi Das, Runu Bhuyan and Apar Chakraborty were present.