Parag Das commemorated

LAKHIMPUR, May 17: Martyr journalist Parag Das was commemorated in Lakhimpur with profound reverence on Thursday on the occasion of his 22nd death anniversary. The dedicated journalist was assassinated in broad daylight by unidentified militant at Rajgarh in Guwahati on May 17, 1996. In these 22 long years, the culprit has not been identified and brought to book. The North Lakhimpur Press Club (NLPC) paid deep homage to the martyr by organizing a commemoration programme at its office. The programme began with lighting of earthen lamp in front of the portrait of the martyr by former president of NLPC, Debendra Kumar Pandey and senior journalist Nabiul Hussain. NLPC slammed the comprehensive failure on the part of the State and Union governments and the machinery concerned with regard to tracing the murderer of the journalist and decided to submit a memorandum to the Prime Minister in this regard.

The Narayanpur Press Club also paid deep homage to the martyr by holding a memorial lecture in its office. Advocate Arup Kalita enlightened the august gathering by delivering the memorial lecture on ‘Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 and the Future of Assam’. The programme was chaired by Kumud Saikia, the president of the Press Club, while Tutumoni Phukan, the secretary of Assam Working Journalist Association, inaugurated it. He demanded the government to implement the Journalist Security Act. The programme began with lighting of lamp by Nitumoni Baruah. President of Narayanpur Nagar Samiti administered the smriti tarpan. Principal of Madhavdev College, Sarat Hazarika released a book named Bor Narayanpur: Atijya Aru Sanskriti in the programme.

Joysagar: Journalist Parag Kumar Das was remembered on his 22nd death anniversary in Sivasagar on Thursday by various journalist bodies. Besides, Manab Adhikar Sangram Samittee (MASS), Sivasagar district committee also organized a memorial meeting on the occasion. A group of social activists of the town held a memorial function on Thursday at the Rangpur Jyoti Club to mark the anniversary of Parag Kr. Das.