Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Philadelphia selected to host Copa America Centerio

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 Nov 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Philadelphia, Nov 20: Philadelphia has been selected to co-host along with nine other US cities the Copa America Centerio, the 100-year anniversary of the historic football tourment, organisers said.

The announcement in this regard came on Thursday by the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF), the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) and the Copa America Centerio Local Organising Committee (LOC).

The tourment — the oldest intertiol continental football competition that began in 1916 — will be played during June 3-26, next year, in the United States and the Lincoln Fincial Field here has been selected to host matches in Philadelphia.

“On behalf of the Philadelphia Union, we’re ecstatic for this city to have the opportunity to host some of biggest intertiol games on the 2016 calendar,” Union Chief Revenue Officer and Executive Vice President of Philadelphia Dave Rowan said in a statement.

“In coordition with Lincoln Fincial Field, the Philadelphia Eagles and the Philadelphia Sports Congress, we’ll do everything in our power to ensure the best possible environment at these games.”

Chosen from among 24 candidates that origilly submitted bids earlier this year, the stadiums passed rigorous standards, including minimum seating capacity of 60,000 and other world-class infrastructure requirements, in order to host matches of this high-profile tourment which is sure to draw multitudes of fans to venues across the country.

Hosting matches alongside Philadelphia will be Boston (Gillette Stadium), Chicago (Soldier Field), Houston (NRG Stadium), Los Angeles (Rose Bowl), New York (MetLife Stadium), Orlando (Orlando Citrus Bowl Stadium), Phoenix (University of Phoenix Stadium), San Francisco (Levi’s Stadium) and Seattle (CenturyLink Field).

The 2016 Copa America will be staged outside of South America for the first time. The tourment will feature six teams from CONCACAF and all 10 teams from CONMEBOL. IANS

Next Story