Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Political parties gear up for polls in Tinsukia

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 Feb 2016 12:00 AM GMT


Tinsukia, Feb 13: With just two months left for the Assembly polls, preparation is going on for the election in the 122 Tinsukia Assembly constituency and probable ticket seekers of Congress, B J P and A G P have started campaigning by installing hoardings and organizing group meetings in Tinsukia and neighboring areas.

There are a total of 141865 voters in the constituency and three leaders including sitting MLA Rajendra Prasad Singh, APCC spokesperson Ramen Borthakur and Lakhyajyoti Boruah, vice president of Youth Congress of Dibrugarh parliamentary constituency committee, have sought ticket from Congress party in Tinsukia LAC. On the other hand, as many as 21 leaders are seeking ticket from BJP from the constituency.

Source said that it had been decided that Sanjay Kisan, senior leader of party likely to get the B J P ticket.

Probin Dutta, district president of A G P, is a ticket seeker from AGP. AGP has also organized several meetings in various places of the constituency to woo the voters.

In the Lok Sabha polls in 2014, BJP candidate Rameswar Telly won the Tinsukia assembly seat with a margin of 31577 votes against Congress candidate Paban Singh Ghatowar. The margin of vote in 2014 parliamentary election in Tinsukia assembly segment was 31577. BJP got 654732 while INC got 65473 votes.

On other hand in Lok Sabha election in 2009, Congress candidate Paban Sing Ghatawar obtained 3591630 votes. But he lost the election in 2014 by a margin of 186000 votes.

Congress MLA Rajendra Prasad has allegedly failed to develop the Tinsukia constituency though he has been holding the seat for last 15 years.

Sources said due to his alleged failure, senior Congress leader Bhola Sah has formally joined AGP recently along with around 1000 supporters.

Ramen Borthakur, senior leader of Congress party is demanding ticket from Tinsukia constituency. Borthakur said that he decided to contest in the forthcoming assembly elections on the basis of the support of the people of the constituency. He has been organizing various meetings at different places.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News