Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Preparations on for State convention of Asomiya Sahitya Sanmilani

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  6 Jan 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

BILASIPARA, Jan 5: Preparations are on full swing in Dhubri to welcome Dr Dilip Kumar Dutta, newly nomited president of Asomiya Sahitya Sanmilani and noted mathematician and litterateur, chief guests of the third State convention and delegates from various districts of Assam.

Stating this in a press release, Rajat Kumar Sarma and Dr Rezaul Karim, secretaries of the organizing committee of the Dhubri Convention of Asomiya Sahitya Sanmilani, also said that all preparations for the delegates’ meeting and open session of the convention to be held at the Children’s Park in Dhubri from January 6 to January 8 had been completed. The delegates’ meeting of the Sanmilani will be held at the Pramathesh Baruah Auditorium located adjacent to the Shilabhadra Kshetra which notably features a clay statue of renowned short-story writer Shilabhadra.

In accordance with the principles and ethics of the organization, due emphasis is placed on the smooth and effective magement of the delegates’ meeting instead of going after ostentatious celebrations of the event. However, a poets’ meet has also been scheduled for the evening on January 7. Two poets of repute from each district of the State will take part in this poets’ meet to be iugurated by noted poet Gangamohan Mili. The cultural programme scheduled for the evening will be iugurated by Bidyasagar, one of the well-known music artistes from the State. Ten artistes from the district of Dhubri will be felicitated in the course of this cultural programme. The organizing committee has made due arrangements to showcase the varied cultural heritage of Dhubri in the cultural programme.

In the morning on January 8, a cultural rally led by Dr Dilip Kumar Dutta, the newly nomited president, and Bhagirath Mishra, famous storywriter from Kolkata, and featuring the multifarious cultural hues and expressions of the region, will be organized, and it will be followed immediately by the open session of the convention. In the open session, Molan Laskar, Swahidul Islam and Monika Das, three emerging writers of Assam, will be honoured with the Sahitya Prero Award. Another important aspect of the occasion will be the release of seven important books on the language, literature and culture of Assam.

Meanwhile, the organizing committee has completed all necessary arrangements for the mega event.

Next Story