Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Protest by BJP workers in Margherita, senior leader resigns

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

MARGHERITA, March 11: On Friday more than 300 BJP activists of 124 No Margherita LAC burnt the effigies of State BJP president Sarbanda Sonowal, Dibrugarh MP Rameswar Teli and new leader Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma at NH 38 Changlang Tiniali, Margherita.

Sanjay Kumar Deb, senior BJP leader of Margherita, on Friday formally resigned from the primary membership of BJP. He said, “In the year 1996 I joined BJP because I thought that only the BJP could bring change in the society and the whole country but I was proved wrong today. BJP State leaders have no ideology and principles and today there is no difference between the BJP and the Congress party. The BJP leaders have given tickets to corrupt people, murderers, thieves and SULFA members to contest in the forthcoming assembly election.”

Meanwhile, the newly- floated political party Trinomool BJP has chosen Lakheswar Moran to contest from 124 No Margherita LAC and Sanjay Kumar Deb may contest from 122 No Tinsukia LAC, said a source. Many senior BJP leaders of Margherita such as Margherita BJP Sadar Mandal Committee president Bhim Karmakar, Debth Boro, president of Tinsukia District BJP ST Morcha, Santanu Borthakur, president of Margherita BJP Block Mandal Committee, Ashim Das, Tinsukia District BJYM, bo Dutta, Khamai Gudung and more than 300 BJP workers were present today.

Puran Chetry who recently resigned from the post of secretary of Margherita AGP district committee got a ticket from the newly-floated political party AGP (Ancholiktadi Manch) to contest from 124 No Margherita LAC.

Next Story