Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

PSPB tennis begins in Guwahati

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  7 Dec 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Dec 6: The 37th Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) Inter Unit Tennis Tourment got under way at All Assam Tennis Association Complex, Chachal here today. Chairman and Maging Director of Oil India Limited Utpal Bora iugurated the tourment at a impressive ceremony which was also attended by the Joint Secretary of PSPB. K L Tejwani.

This year seven Petroleum Organization, under the banner of PSPB, are taking part in the competitions. The participating teams are OIL, ONGC, IOCL, BPCL, HPCL, GAIL and NRL. On the other hand several top ranked players of the Country such as Rohan Bopan, Ram Kumar Ramathan, Saket Meineni, Vishnu Vardhan, Rushmi Chakravarty , Prera Bhambri, Ankita Rai and others are competing here for the titles. The tourment will be played in nine categories. Oil India Limited is organising and hosting this tourment and All Assam Tennis Association has provided the facilities at its Chachal complex to hold the event.

Results of Day I:


Asim Kumar Baruah (OIL) def Ratul Borah (HPCL). 6-1, 7-5, Hakim Ali (OIL) def Y Ramesh Babu (HPCL). 6-2, 6-0, Jayanta Dutta (NRL) def S Venkatesh (IOCL) 6-0, 6-2, Pratul Kumar Saikia (NRL) def S Rajora (IOCL). 6-3, 6-4, Santosh Kumar (ONGC) def S N Sharma (GAIL). 6-0, 6-1, Rakesh Sharma (GAIL) def Bor Pujari (ONGC). 6-2, 7-6(5).

MENS: Vijay Sundar (GAIL) def Raj Kumar (HPCL). 6-0, 6-2, Saketh Myneni (GAIL) def Anup Toppo (HPCL) 6-0, 6-1, Anshuman Dutta (OIL) def Jhitanta Rabha (NRL) 6-0, 6-0, C S Mohanty (OIL) def Subul Haloi (NRL). 6-0, 6-0, Dhruv Sunish (IOCL) def Dhruba Jyoti Hazarika (OIL). 6-0, 6-0, Sumit gal (IOCL) def Lukrak Niling (OIL). 6-0, 6-0.

WOMENS: Sneha Reddy (GAIL) def Nidhi Chilumula (IOCL). 6-4, 6-2, Riya Bhatia (IOCL) def Prera Bhambri (GAIL). 6-2, 6-0.

WOMENS DOUBLES: Riya Bhatia (IOCL)/ Prartha Thombare (IOCL) def Sneha Reddy (GAIL)/ Prera Bhambri (GAIL). 6-6. (Conceded).

MENS DOUBLES : Bor Pujari (ONGC)/ Bangari H. M. (ONGC) def Rakesh Sharma (GAIL)/ And Makwa (GAIL). 6-2, 6-2.

Next Story