Railways win men’s national hockey title

Representative image



Gwalior: Railways came up with a scintillating performance to dethrone defending champions Punjab 3-2 in the final of the 9th Senior National Men Hockey Championship 2019, here on Sunday.

Both teams rallied cautiously in the first quarter as they kept the defences tight to prevent space in the striking circle.

In the bronze medal match, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board beat Punjab and Sind Bank 4-1. Talwinder Singh (8th minute), Devinder Walmiki (13th), Harmanpreet Singh (49th) and Mandeep Singh (57th) scored for the winners while Gaganpreet Singh (51st) scored for Punjab and Sind Bank. IANS

Also Read: Sports News