Relief for Seven Advocates Convicted in The Assault of A Member of The Foreigners Tribunal

Representative image

FT member assault case

A Correspondent

GOALPARA: The seven advocates who were allegedly involved and convicted in the assault of a member of the Foreigners Tribunal (FT) on Thursday by the court of Chief Judicial Magistrate, have received respite from the court of the District and Sessions Judge. P. Buragohain, District and Sessions Judge, on Tuesday suspended the conviction and sentences passed by the Chief Judicial Magistrate. The sentences were suspended till the disposal of the appeal. The seven advocates will also enjoy bail till the disposal of the case. The Chief Judicial Magistrate of Goalpara on Thursday gave verdict in the Foreigners Tribunal (FT) member Justice Ajay Kumar Phukan assault case of 2017 and sentenced seven out of eight advocates to two years of imprisonment and fine also. These advocates are Najrul Islam, Omar Faruk Choudhury, Shahjahan Ali, Mir Abdul Baten, Abdul Hamid, Moinul Hoque and Anower Hussain. However, the court acquitted advocate Anisur Hoque.

The court of Ipsita Birthakur in her 98-page judgement, convicted these advocates under Indian Penal Code Sections 147/448/323 and 333 and also under Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act 1984 sections. The incident took place on February 15, 2017 when a team of advocates went to meet FT member Phukan to discuss regarding tagging seven persons of Boguan area of West Goalpara as D-voters. The advocates alleged that the declared ‘D’ voters had the valid documents and the judgement was not based on papers produced before the court.

Subsequently, the advocates allegedly physically assaulted the member which created widespread criticism. Judge Phukan in return filed a case at the Goalpara police station. The police filed charge sheet after a haste inquiry on March 24 against eight advocates among whom seven were convicted.