Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Saffron party wipes out Congress from Tinsukia district

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

TINSUKIA, May 19: Unprecedented in the political history of Tinsukia district, the saffron party virtually wiped out Congress in the district. Amid cheers of celebration and riding high on the wave of poriborton, BJP ushered in with a resounding poll bugle establishing major victories in the four out of five constituencies of Tinsukia, Margherita, Sadiya and Digboi, except Doomdooma.

In 122 Tinsukia LAC, Sanjay Kishan of BJP defeated three-time Congress MLA Rajendra Prasad Singh by a margin of 35,032 votes; in 123 Digboi LAC, Suren Phukan of BJP uprooted the Dhanwar dysty by defeating Gautam Dhanwar by a margin of 14,267 votes; in 124 Margherita LAC, Bhaskar Sharma of BJP packed in a punch by winning the constituency in one of the most debated contest between him and Pradyut Bordoloi of INC with a margin of 22,744 votes. Sharma secured 76,365 votes against 53,621 votes of Bordoloi.

In 125 Doomdooma, Durga Bhumij of INC maged to win by a margin of 248 votes from his nearest rival, Dilip Moran of BJP; in 126 Sadiya, Bolin Chetia of BJP defeated Birinchi Neog of INC by a margin of 55,22 votes.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News