Top
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

'Sanchez's goal should have been disallowed'

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 May 2017 12:00 AM GMT

London, May 28: Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois was disappointed by Alexis Sanchezs opening goal for Arsel in the FA Cup fil, which the recently crowned EPL champions lost 1-2, and said it should have been disallowed.

Courtois said Sanchez’s goal in the fourth minute of the FA Cup fil at the Wembley Stadium here on Saturday evening. However, television replays raised doubts on the referee’s decision to award the goal.

Courtois asserted that the goal should have been disallowed as Sanchez had committed a handball and his fellow Arsel forward Aaron Ramsey, who was interfering with play, was in an offside position.

Sanchez opened the scoring after a solo run. Arsel’s Aaron Ramsey was ruled offside but referee Antony Taylor overruled his assistant’s decision and allowed Sanchez’s goal.

“The first goal should never have been allowed — it was clearly a hand ball and then Ramsey was offside because he was interfering in play,” the goalkeeper was quoted as saying by Chelsea’s official website on Sunday.

“I think it was a handball even if it was maybe not deliberate. His hands were not in a tural position. At the start of every season they tell us the rules and at Manchester and now the hands were not where they should be.” IANS

Next Story