Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sangram Committee members press GM NF Railway for passenger trains

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 Aug 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From a correspondent

Silchar, August 21: A memorandum was submitted to Ranjit Singh Virdi, General Mager (General) of NF Railways, by the members of Silchar-Lumding BG Rupayan Sangram Committee (SLBGRSC) at Badarpur on Thursday. The Committee members also had a discussion with GM regarding the present status of the BG route and its anomalies. The members raised a charter of demands including making public the Commissioner of Railway Safety (CRS) report and completion of the pending works of BG line among others.

Ranjit Singh Virdi speaking to the Committee members said passenger train services in the newly constructed Silchar-Lumding BG route will begin shortly. Dismissing the rumors published in a section of the media about the safety aspect of BG track, he said all safety issues have been taken care of and passenger train services will start after the ongoing monsoon. On the demand for making public the CRS report, he said as it is a confidential matter the report cannot be made public.

On being asked by the members about the duration of travel between Guwahati and Silchar, he said it will take around 10 hours to cover the distance. He firmly said the speed limit mentioned in Railways Right to Information (RTI) Monitoring System will be adhered to. The Committee members requested the railway authorities to rectify the anomalies and complete the pending works of the BG track on a priority basis. They urged upon the General Mager (General) of NF Railway to keep in mind the long felt aspirations of the people of Barak Valley and start the passenger train services accordingly.

The General Mager while on an inspection of the track came to Badarpur where the members of SLBGRSC met him and discussed the problems and sought his immediate intervention to overcome the hurdles in order to pave the passage for safer and easy run of passenger trains. The Committee members forming part of the delegation included Ajoy Roy, convener, Subrata Chandra th and Moloy Bhattacharjee, executive members, and publicity secretary Bijit Kumar Singha.

Next Story