Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sangram Committee stages demonstration

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  26 Oct 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From A Correspondent

DHUBRI, Oct 25: Dhubri-Phulbari Rail Aru Path Dolong Sangram Committee staged a protest meet on Wednesday followed by a procession and demonstration in front of Dhubri Deputy Commissioner’s office demanding railway line on the proposed Dhubri Phulbari road bridge. A long procession with placards and banners hit the roads of Dhubri town starting from Srimanta Sankardev Sishu Udyan. In the protest meet at Srimanta Sankardev Sishu Udyan, sangram committee outlined the onset of their movement which started after open convention held on February 13 this year.

Addressing the protest meet, former legislator and vice-president of sangram committee, Dewan Joyl Abedin regretted over the fact that despite meeting the then Union Railway Minister, Suresh Prabhu at the Rail Bhawan in New Delhi on April 13 and Union Road and Transport Minister, Nitin Gadkari on August 1 on the demand of road cum rail bridge, no positive step so far has been taken by them to fulfill the demands.

Abedin in his long speech informed that the fundamental concept of a steady economy was the easy flow of commodities to tiol and intertiol markets, and this could be only be possible by railway connectivity.

Prior to survey on Dhubri-Phulbari bridge, railway had also conducted survey a decade ago on the feasibility of rail route from Mahendraganj and along the southern border of Meghalaya to Badarpur of Barak valley. If the rail line over the bridge is approved, then the people, trade and business of the entire hinterland from Dhubri to Badarpur via Phulbari would be greatly benefited, he further informed.

Apart from demanding road cum rail bridge over proposed Dhubri-Phulbari bridge, sangram committee submitted memorandum to Union Railway Minister, Piyush Goyal through Dhubri deputy commissioner, Ant Lal Gyani, with five other demands. The protest meet was presided over by vice-resident of Sangram Committee, Azhar Hussain.

Next Story