Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

SC ward commissioners felicitated by AAJP

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 May 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From Our Correspondent

Silchar, May 9: The Assam Anusuchito Jati Parishad (AAJP), a forum for 16 scheduled communities, felicitated the newly elected 9 ward commissioners of Silchar Municipal Board (SMB) including its present chairman Niharendra rayan Thakur, belonging to the Schedule Caste (SC) community today in the Mahatma Gandhi hostel auditorium of Silchar. Sources said that 20% of the population of Silchar under the municipal limits belongs to the SC community. It is for the first time that 9 out of 28 winning candidates in SMB election belong to the SC communities.

The Parishad said that in the past the people belonging to these scheduled communities have been deprived of basic civic amenities, but, the AAJP hoped that such deprivation would stop now as 9 of the elected representatives of SMB belong to the communities represented by the Parishad. It is interesting to note that the first chairman of the SMB, constituted in 1913, was Kamini Kumar Chanda, who also hailed from the SC community. Leaders and members of various bodies belonging to the AAJP, present on the occasion were Ashok Baidya, Dhirendra Kumar Das, Sudhangshu Das, Rantu Malakar, Antu Suklabaidya and Lokth Roy.

Next Story