Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Scribes celebrate I-Day at Guwahati Press Club

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Aug 2015 12:00 AM GMT

GUWAHATI, August 16: City based mediapersons and patriotic citizens from different walks of life observed India’s 69th Independence Day at Guwahati Press Club on Saturday with fanfare.

Senior jourlist Rupam Barua hoisted the tiol flag at 11 am, following which he gave a short speech highlighting the contributions of millions of known & unknown martyrs and freedom fighters for the noble cause.

“Thanks to our great patriots and martyrs, we are now living proudly in a free tion. The significance of this day lies in gratefully recollecting their supreme sacrifices,” said Barua. He expressed dissatisfaction that many organizations now-a-days prefer not to salute the Tri-colour citing their various grievances.

“It is very unfortute and disgusting as well. We should (must) pay our tributes to the martyrs unconditiolly. Nobody should drag the auspicious days like I-Day and Republic Day for selfish interest. Otherwise we will be known as an ungrateful tion, which cannot be accepted,” pointed out Barua. Following the flag hoisting programme, the participants took out a rally on the city streets. Many children also participated in the rally waving tiol flags and chanted patriotic slogans. They also performed in a brief function at the press club with various recitation and patriotic songs.

It may be mentioned that defying the diktats of various separatist militant outfits the Guwahati based jourlists and few patriotic tiols have made it a habit to gather at the local press club on both 15 August and 26 January to hoist the Tri-colour and salute the martyrs of India’s freedom movement. They have taken a principled stand against separatist agenda and led the endeavour from 1998 onwards.

The participants included senior jourlists Ranen Kumar Goswami, Mukul Kalita, DN Sing, Raman Bora, Bijay Bora, Bikas Singh, Prabjit Doloi, Pramod Kalita, Utpal Das, va Thakuria, Nripen Rajbongshi, Mamata Mishra, Akhyamala Bora with civil society representatives like Dr Jagadindra Raychoudhury, Uttam Barthakur, Kishor Giri, Kailash Sarma, Purabi Barua, Rubi Barthakur, Md Farid, Mril Ali Hazarika, Pradip Thakuria, Shankar Das, Ranjib Sarma, Sanjib Puri etc.

Next Story