Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Search panel shortlists mes for appointment of Lokayukta

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 April 2017 12:00 AM GMT


SHILLONG, April 4: The search committee constituted by the State government for appointment of chairperson and members of Meghalaya Lokayukta was shortlisted on Monday and their mes were forwarded to the Select Committee and the submission of their mes to the Select Committee constituted by the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly will be followed soon.

A well placed source exclusively told ‘The Sentinel’ that the search committee looked into the applicants of the eligible persons including Chief Justice(s) for the Chairperson post, a single applicant for two judicial members and four others for non-judicial members.

The Meghalaya Lokayukta is mandated to have five members.

The search committee comprising GP Wahlang as Chairman, B.B Dutta, L.M Sangma, Theilin Phanbuh and S.G Momin exercised its wisdom before deciding the mes of the applicants. However, the mes of the shortlisted persons were not divulged keeping in view the sensitivity of the upcoming institution.

Considering the importance of the Lokayukta and its composition, the search committee has had a series of meetings before coming out with the shortlisted mes.

The search committee has completed the work and it is up to the select committee to filly approve and placed before the House. The select committee comprise of the Chief Justice of Meghalaya High Court, the Chief Minister and the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and the leader of the opposition besides others.

According to the Meghalaya Lokayukta Act, the chairperson of the Lokayukta will be an individual who is or has been a Chief Justice of the High Court or a Judge of the High Court or an eminent person who fulfils the eligibility of having an impeccable integrity and knowledge of the anti-corruption policy, public administration, vigilance, fince, including insurance and banking, law and magement for at least 25 years. While the term of the chairman and four members is five years, they can remain in office till the age of 70 as per the Lokayukta Act.

The search committee’s fil disposal of the task is expected to bolster the task of iling the corrupt. So long, all RTI findings ended up with the CVC and CIC offices with no teeth to grind on the alleged corrupt elements in the State.

Next Story