Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Setback to Congress in Jaintia Hills

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 March 2018 12:00 AM GMT

From A Reporter

SHILLONG, March 17: In a major setback to the Congress party, seven of its MDC have defected and joined the United Democratic Party (UDP) in Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council (JHADC). The seven MDCs had taken the decision to leave the Congress after a meeting held in the city on Friday with Working President of UDP Paul Lyngdoh. The MDCs defecting MDCs are West Jaintia Hills District Congress Committee president and MDC Ummulong Moodymmai Laitsing Shylla, Hermon Phawa MDC from Mukhla Wahiajer, Suk- lang Shylla MDC Nong-jngi, Lamdibok Sumer MDC 1- War East, Bison Roy Iano MDC 15- Raliang, Lasky MDC Tuber and Shemhok Suchiang MDC Muthlong Sohkymphor.

With the joining of the 7 MDCs the number of UDP MDCs in JHADC has risen to 10 that includes Moonlight Pariat, Chemhok Garod and Chanky Lyngdoh.

It may be mentioned that earlier a few MDCs in the JHADC had also joined the tiol People’s Party ( NPP) which includes Thombor Shiwat MDC 8- rtiang Umladang, Kilometre Lytan MDC 16- Shangpung, Pheinshwa ngleiñ MDC 10- Mynsngat Khanduli, Ri- ioo Sten MDC Barato Mukroh, Violet Lyngdoh MDC 23- Rymbai Khliehriat, Madonbai Rymbai MDC Sohmynting Khliehtyrshi, Joinriwell Pyrtuh MDC 29- Bataw Lakadong, Rudaioo Tang MDC Shilliang Myntang, Richard Lyngdoh MDC 25- Sutnga Nongkhlieh and Hed Pothmi MDC 3- War East.

After a number of the MDCs have joined the UDP, the Congress in JHADC has 8 members which includes Awhai Andrew Shullai MDC Jowai Central, Desous Pohsh MDC rpuh, Arborhima Darnei MDC Saipung, Philip Tangliang 26- Sumer, Hopingstone Bareh MDC Sutnga, Phasmoon Dkhar MDC Musniang, Holando Lamin War Central, Winning Garland Sungoh MDC Mookaiaw and Sevenborn Tang MDC shuh sieh.

Next Story