Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Seven militant organizations ban I-Day celebration in WESEA region

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 Aug 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, Aug 10: Seven militant organizations comprising Hynniutrep tiol Liberation Council (HNLC), Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP), Kamatapur Liberation Organization (KLO), Kanglei Yawol Kan Lup (KYKL), tiol Democratic Front of Boroland (NDFB), tiol Liberation Front Twipra (NLFT) and People’s Democratic Council of Karbilongri (PDCK) have jointly issued ban on celebrating Independence Day in the western South East Asia region and asked the people to desist from participating in the celebration.

In a press statement issued by the publicity secretary of the Hynniutrep tiol liberation Council (HNLC), Sainkupar Nongtraw said the observation of Indian Independence Day was one of the symbolic instruments, sacred and ussailable for mainland Indians, but vicious and malicious to the colonized peripheral non-Indians. He said the celebration of such occasions could create a false consciousness of enjoying political freedom in the minds of subjugated people. He also claimed that to resist Indian occupation and hegemony, almost all communities of the WESEA region had risen and an armed struggle was still going on.

“As a part of this continuing resistance struggle, we, the representatives of our respective revolutiory organizations, declare to ban India’s Independence Day celebrations in our WESEA region. In order to successfully materialize the same declaration, we call for total shutdown of the entire region for 12 hours, that is from 6 am to 6 pm on August 15,” he said adding that the people of the subjugated region should do the needful to make this ban a success.

Next Story