Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Seven Tripura MLAs all set to join BJP

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 July 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From A Correspondent
Agartala, July 22: The seven Congress and Trimool Congress MLAs of Tripura who defied the instructions given by their party and voted in favor of Ramth Kovind, the NDA candidate in presidential election, are all set to join BJP.
The joining of the six MLAs, who have already resigned from TMC led by Sudip Roy Barman, is likely to be formalized shortly while the joining of the lone Congress MLA Ratan Lal th may take some time to avoid legal complicacies.
The former TMC MLAs held a meeting to review the current political situation. Their followers from all the sub-divisions also attended the meeting. Later, talking to the reporters Sudip Roy Barman said that they would go to Delhi shortly to meet the BJP president Amit Shah where all formalities for the joining would be filized.
Though they are certain to join, there may be some delay in the process because of some differences of opinion with the BJP state leadership on the joining procedure. According to sources the state BJP President Biplab Deb wants them to join the state committee as per standard procedures that are being followed in the party, but the MLAs want to organize a big rally in Agartala, where they will join along with their followers across the state. According to sources they will formally join at party’s head quarter in Delhi and then the state committee will organize a big rally at Agartala to welcome them.

Next Story