Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Shiva, Manoj win gold, Devendro settles for silver

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 Dec 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Senior Men’s tiol Boxing C’ships concludes

By our Sports Reporter

Guwahati, Dec 13: Local hero Shiva Thapa and Commonwealth Games medalist Manoj Kumar clinched the gold medal in the Senior Men's tiol Boxing Championships which concluded at the Karmabir bin Chandra Bordoloi Indoor Stadium here today. However Manipur's Laishram Devendro Singh had to settle for the silver after losing his fil Flyweight (52kg) bout to Chandigarh's Deepak Singh.

Shiva proved too powerful for his opponent as the 23-year-old, powered by home crowds, maged to floor Harya's Ankush twice in the first round in60 kg category. He maged to domite over his opponent in the next two rounds also which ensured gold medal for him.

Talking to the media person just after his fil bout Shiva today said, “It’s a very nice feeling for me to win a medal in front of my home supporters. Now I am looking forward to the new season. My next target is Asian Games and I will try my best to win a medal from the competition.”

Meanwhile, in Flyweight (52kg) category Chandigarh's Deepak Singh thrashed Laishram Devendro Singh, by a unimous 5-0 verdict. The 24-year-old Asian Championships and Commonwealth Games medalist failed to offer any resistance to his opponent in most part of the bout.

In Welterweight (69kg) category, Commonwealth Games medalist Manoj from the Railways Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) won the gold medal beating Services Sports Control Board's (SSCB) Duryodhan Singh 4-1 by a split decision.

Among other categories, Harya’s boxer Amit outpunched RSPB's Shayam Kumar to clinch the gold in Light Flyweight category while SSCB's Md. Hussamuddin trounced Harya's Akshay 5-0 in the Bantam (56kg) weight category to win the gold.

In Light Welterweight (64kg) SSCB's Thomans Meitei overcame stiff competition from RSPB's Rohit to win his bout 3-2 and the gold medal.

In Middleweight (75kg) category, SSCB's Jaideep won by an unimous decision on way to win gold against Mizoram's Venhlimpuia while RSPB's Manish Panwar took the gold in Light Heavyweight (81kg) after beating Madhya Pradesh's Rahul 3-2.

In Heavyweight (91kg), Madhya Pradesh's Gaurav emerged the winner against Himachal Pradesh pugilist Virender Kumar while in Super Heavyweight (+91kg) Satish Kumar of SSCB took the gold after thrashing Harya's Parveen Kumar 5-0 by an unimous decision.

Overall, Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) produced the best results as they won four golds, one silver and three bronze medals. The Railways Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) bagged two gold, two silver and two bronze medals to finish second.

Deepak Singh from Chandigarh was adjudged the Best Boxer.

On the sidelines of Boxing tiols, the Boxing Federation of India conducted an election today to elect a player repersentative to the Executive Committee of BFI. 27 votes were casted by the 27 teams present at the tiols and former Commonwealth Gold medalist Manoj Kumar was elected the Player representative by an overwhelming response of vote casters.

Former World Champion and MP MC Mary Kom, Boxing Federation of India (BFI) President Ajoy Singh and Assam PWD Minister Parimal Suklabaidya were present during the closing function.

Meanwhile as per the earlier announcement the Boxing Federation of India (BFI), for the first time of its history, handed over the cash award to the medal winning boxers. The gold medalists bagged Rs 20,000, while the silver medal winners got Rs.12,000. Two bronze medalists in each category were given Rs.7000 each.

Next Story