Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Silchar Yogasa Centre holds yoga competition

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Feb 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From Our Correspondent

SILCHAR, February 9: In a bid to commemorate its silver jubilee, Silchar Yogasa Centre organised an inter–district yogasa competition at Gandhi Bhawan here on Sunday. Parag Dey and Brototi Bhattacharjee won Yogakumar and Yogakumari titles respectively in the competition.

Tamojit Bhattacharjee and Biyak Das respectively stood second and third positions in the Yogakumar category while in Yogakumari category, Sushmita Paul and Madhumita th respectively bagged second and third position.

In the competition, more than 200 participants take part in eleven categories. The competition continued till the evening. Apart from Yogasa, a cultural extravaganza was also organised.

The Yogakumar and Yogakumari were given away the Mahamaya Bhattacharjee Memorial Trophy while the best candidate was awarded with Samaresh Bhattacharjee Memorial Trophy.

The additiol deputy commissioner of Cachar MK Das, well–known child specialist Dr Chandrasekhar Das, Dr Subrata Paul, Ajoy Kumar, among others, were present at the iugural ceremony of the competition.

The principal of the Silchar Yogasa Centre Biprashish Chakraborty in his speech highlighted the importance of yoga in everyone’s life. He said that yoga not only keeps a person physically fit, but also keeps him mentally fit. He underscored the need of practicing yoga twice everyday to stay fit and healthy. Chakraborty said that the students who regular do yoga would be mentally and physically sharp, which would have a great impact in their life.

The additiol deputy commissioner of Cachar MK Das appreciated the efforts of the Centre and said that yoga is important for everyone. In order to stay fit and healthy, one has no other option than continuously do yoga. Dr Chandrasekhar Das also reiterated MK Das and highlighted various advantages of yoga.

Among others present at the programme included Debjani Chakraborty, Sankar Saha, Bikram Roy. Subhendu Purkayastha, Nirupama Roy and Deboswata Bhomik judged the entire competition.

Next Story