Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Silver jubilee of Greater Bongaigaon Press Club

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 March 2017 12:00 AM GMT

our Correspondent

Bongaigaon, March 2: The silver jubilee year celebration programme of Greater Bongaigaon Press Club (GBPC) will start from March 4 with a two-day long programme.

Sujit Kumar Ray, secretary of reception committee, said that the programme on March 4 would start with the Press Club’s flag hoisting by Kunja Mohan Ray, president of GBPC. “Total 25 flags will be hoisted by 25 dignitaries, including Hemanta Kumar Sarma, president, reception committee. Tribute will be paid to that jourlists of Bongaigaon who are no more and then tree plantation will be done. A felicitation programme where former jourlists, eminent social worker and noted persons will be felicitated, will be iugurated by Biswajit Pegu, Deputy Commissioner of Bongaigaon, and will held in Prasanti Tourism House of Bongaigaon,” he said.

“A discussion on the topic ‘Responsibility and problems of rural jourlists and role of newspaper house’ will held in Prasanti Tourism House which will be iugurated by eminent jourlist Karukanta Ray. The programme will be conducted by Aksay Kumar Misra, jourlist of Barpeta where eminent jourlist Haidar Hussein, Ajit Kumar Bhuya and Shovit Chetry will take part. On March 5, a jourlist workshop will held in Prasanti Tourism House which will be iugurated by G C Sikdar, ED of Bongaigaon Refinery. Samudra Gupta Kashyap of The Indian Express and Dilip Chandan Sarma, editor of Asom Bani will be the resource persons. After this, the open meeting will held in the District Library hall where several noted persons including Hrishikesh Goswami, press advisor to the Chief Minister, Adip Phukan, eminent jourlist, Ranjit Gogoi, Director, Information and Public Relation department of Assam, Dr Akashitora Saikiya, jourlist-cum-actress, Phani Bhusan Choudhury, MLA Bongaigaon, Abdul High gori, MLA of North Abhayapuri, Anta Kumar Malo, MLA of South Abhayapuri, Kamal Sing rzary, MLA of Bijni, Chandan Brahma, MLA of Sidli, Ranjit Das, MLA of Sarbhog, Ashok Singhi, MLA of East Bilasipara, Subhrajyoti Saikiya, DIG, Western Division and many others will attend the meeting. The meeting will be presided over by Hemanta Kumar Sarma, president of the reception committee. In the evening, a lamp lighting programme will be conducted and a cultural programme night will be held which will be iugurated by Hridayjit Barman, Superintendent of Police, Bongaigaon,” he said.

The result of the art and news writing competition, which was held on February 26, will be declared in the open meeting. “Certificate to all participants will be given in the open meeting,” he said.

Next Story