Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sivasagar Municipal Board formed

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 April 2015 12:00 AM GMT


SIVASAGAR, April 2: The newly elected members of the Bharatiya Jata Party (BJP) which won six seats along with two Independents candidates, out of the 14 seats, in the recently concluded civic polls of the Sivasagar Municipal Board, on Thursday formed the next board by selecting Rupa Bora as the chairman and Mridushmita Singha as the vice-chairman.

Rupa Bora won from Ward No. 6 as an Independent candidate while BJP-supported Mridushmita Singha won from Ward No. 12. The decision was taken in a formal but brief meeting held at the Sivasagar Municipal Board office in presence of Deputy Commissioner Virendra Mittal. Earlier the DC administered the oath of office to all the elected ward members of both the BJP, Congress and Independent. The oath taking ceremony was also attended by Jorhat MP Kamakhya Prasad Tassa.

Next Story