Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Six candidates file nomition papers in Sivasagar

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT


SIVASAGAR, March 17: Amid fanfare, hundreds of candidates, including key politicians Pradip Hazarika and Surabhi Rajkonwari, entered the fray on Thursday for the first phase of Assam Assembly elections scheduled on April 4. A total of six candidates filed their nomition papers. The nomition-filing process witnessed a flurry of activities in Sivasagar as today, i.e. Thursday is considered ‘auspicious’. The last day for filing nomitions is March 18.

Former State minister and veteran AGP leader Pradip Hazarika filed the nomition for 103 Amguri LAC, accompanied by a large number of his supporters.

Surabhi Rajkonwari, a woman candidate fielded by BJP, jumped into the fray for the 108 Sivasagar LAC.

Jardhan Hazarika, who formed Trimool BJP after not getting ticket from the BJP, filed nomition to contest for the 103 Amguri LAC.

The other contestants included CPI candidate Kushal Borgohain for 107 Thowra LAC, AIUDF candidate Gayatri Bora Kalita for 103 Amguri LAC and Independent candidate Anwar Hussain who will contest from Sivasagar and Amguri.

After filing his nomition, Pradip Hazarika said, “Corruption was at its peak in Assam in the last 15 years of Congress rule. People have been cheated repeatedly. The united strength of BJP-AGP will defeat the main opposition Congress and will form a corruption-free and development-oriented government for the people of Assam.”

Surabhi Rajkonwari said, “BJP will put an end of misrule in Sivasagar. BJP will win majority of seats in Sivasagar district and form government.”

Jardhan Hazarika said, “With the support of Trimool BJP, the BJP will win the assembly election and form government under the leadership of Sarbanda Sonowal in Assam.”

Next Story