Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Six Congress members expelled ahead of Dibrugarh civic polls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 Feb 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Staff Reporter

DIBRUGARH, February 3: With just a few days to go for the civic body elections, the news of six members by the Dibrugarh District Congress Committee (DDCC) bodes ill for the party.

The polling for the election to Dibrugarh Municipal Board and the town committees of Chabua, harkatia and mrup will happen on February 9. In the last election, Congress had won majority in all these bodies. However, the going will not be easy for them this time as the BJP has been building up their support base for some time now. While most observers agree that the fight would be between the two parties, AGP leaders and workers have been working hard to regain the trust of people in the towns and seem to be getting positive response from the voters. The expulsion of the six Congress members at such a crucial juncture is sure to affect the fate of the party.

According to the general secretary of the DDCC, Deboranjan Gogoi, Tushar Choudhury of ward number 15 of Dibrugarh municipality, Lakhi Jyoti Sonowal of ward number 3, Md Tamizzul Hussain of ward number 17, Mril Das of ward number 3, Renu Dehingia and Rafia Shah of ward B and C of Chabua respectively were stripped off their primary membership for a period of six years for anti–party activities.

However, Lakhi Jyoti Sonowal, who is contesting as Independent candidate from ward number 2 and 3 of DMB, said that she and Tushar Choudhury submitted their resigtion letters to the party on January 28. Choudhury is an Independent candidate contesting from ward number 15 of DMB.

Next Story