Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Six nomitions filed in Garo Hills

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 Feb 2018 12:00 AM GMT

From a correspondent

Tura, Feb 2: Six candidates filed their nomitions for the forthcoming Assembly elections from different districts of Garo Hills on Friday, which included two sitting legislators. On Thursday, Nimerson Sangma of United Democratic Party (UDP) filed nomition at Ampati in South West Garo Hills. The six candidates who filed their papers on Friday were Rongara Siju, Rophul S Marak (Independent), Samuel Sangma from Baghmara (Independent ), Starline Momin from Resubelpara (Independent), Pillarson G Momin from Tikrikilla (UDP), Santush Sangma from Raksamgre (UDP) and Diliram G Marak from Selsella (Independent).

Nomitions are also expected to be filed on Saturday as the offices of the Deputy Commissioner will remain open on account of the filing of nomition.

With all the parties declaring their candidates for the ensuing elections, a huge rush is expected in the coming few days as candidates will try to beat the deadline of February 7 for filing of their nomitions.

The NPP, Congress and BJP and all expected to start filing their nomition from February 5, but whether it will be done in batches or on the same day has still not been communicated.

The last day of filing of nomitions is on February 7 with scrutiny of nomitions to be completed the next day. The last day of withdrawal of nomitions will be February 12 with elections on February 27 and counting on March 3.

Election campaigns of all candidates are currently underway and will intensify in the coming days as the region is all geared up to choose a new set of leaders to lead the State.

Next Story