Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Six Sri Lankan ministers quit unity government

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 April 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Colombo, April 12: Six Sri Lankan ministers resigned on Thursday, saying they were uble to continue work in the country’s unity government. The ministers were from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) which is led by President Maithripala Sirise, reports Xinhua news agency. The six ministers are: Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara, Minister of Social Empowerment and Welfare S.B Dissayake, Disaster Magement Minister Anura Priyadarsha Yapa, Labour Minister John Seneviratne, Science, Technology and Research Minister Susil Premajayantha and Minister of Skills Development and Vocatiol Training Chandima Weerakkody. The SLFP is a coalition partner in the unity government along with the ruling United tiol Party which is led by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Ten other state and deputy ministers belonging to the SLFP had also vacated their positions on Wednesday. President Sirise has accepted the resigtions of all the 16 legislators. (IANS)

Next Story